Skip to main content

Ciompi Quartet



  • Existence: 1965-

Biographical / Historical

The Ciompi Quartet is a string quartet at Duke University where they were founded in 1965 by Italian violinist Giorgio Ciompi. The Quartet has produced twelve recordings (half collaboratively with other artists) since 1991. All members of the Quartet are Duke professors. They have performed both in the U.S. and abroad, visiting places such as Texas, China, Germany, Serbia and more.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Piedmont Chamber Orchestra Records

Identifier: MC-0004
Abstract The collection is made up of materials produced by the Piedmont Chamber Orchestra, a professional affiliate of the North Carolina School of the Arts, from 1969-1983. It contains correspondence with potential tour hosts and sponsors, orchestra members, the Orchestra’s Board of Directors, and the NCSA Foundation. Also included are contracts, program offerings, public relations materials, financial reports, notes and meeting minutes, and tour planning information such as mileage and lodging...
Dates: 1969-1983; Majority of material found within 1973-1981